Health crisis

Ulisse is operating normally. In case our switchboard is saturated, please use e-mail (see "Contact & access" at the bottom of the page).

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
EN > FR
Connectez-vous

Ulisse within the CNRS

 

An original position

Both a headquarters department and decentralized unit, Ulisse holds a particular spot: it is first and foremost an intramural service unit, thus functioning similarly to a research laboratory (laboratory council, supervision and steering committee…), in close relation with its regional proximity delegation, the Alps delegation.
But Ulisse is also a support service for the whole CNRS, reporting to the Security Department (DirSu), and therefore to the CNRS Resource Office (DGDR). In this capacity, it acts as a headquarters department with national authority.

 

Ulisse, a Security Department (DirSu) unit

As a major protagonist of international research, the CNRS takes part in a considerable amount of scientific equipment exchanges (gear, samples, prototypes…) between its laboratories and their collaborators in France and abroad. But the transportation of scientific goods often involves significant hazards and/or particular constraints: dangerous goods, fragile and sometimes expensive equipment, perishable samples, dual-use goods…
Thus, the challenge for the institution is to guarantee the safety of persons and goods during these transportations. Ulisse is the answer to this necessity, educating laboratories on these issues and defining the most adequate transport solution while following the various regulations. Within the scope of this risk management mission, the unit reports to the Security Department.

Learn more: DirSu intranet
Learn more: Security director and defense & security officer

 

A brief history

The starting point: the Annecy Laboratory of Particle Physics
It all started with some French-Swiss exchanges… read more

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Connectez-vous

Ulisse au sein du CNRS

 

Un positionnement original

A la fois service du siège et unité décentralisée, le positionnement d’Ulisse est singulier : il s’agit d’abord d’une unité propre de service, qui fonctionne à ce titre sur un modèle proche de celui des laboratoires de recherche (conseil de laboratoire, comité d’orientation et de surveillance…), en lien étroit avec sa délégation régionale de proximité, la délégation Alpes.
Mais Ulisse est également un service support intervenant pour l’ensemble du CNRS, rattaché à la Direction de la Sûreté (DirSu), et à travers elle à la Direction Générale Déléguée aux Ressources (DGDR). Dans ce cadre, elle intervient comme un service du siège à compétence nationale.

 

Ulisse, une unité de la direction de la sûreté (DirSu)

En tant qu’acteur majeur de la recherche internationale, le CNRS participe à un volume considérable d’échanges de matériels scientifiques (équipements, échantillons, prototypes…) entre ses laboratoires et leurs partenaires en France et à l’étranger. Or, les transports de marchandises scientifiques présentent souvent des risques importants et/ou des contraintes particulières : marchandises dangereuses, matériels fragiles et parfois onéreux, échantillons périssables, éventuellement biens à double usage…
L’enjeu pour l’institution est donc de garantir la sécurité des personnes et des biens lors de ces transports. Ulisse est l’outil qui répond à cet impératif, en sensibilisant les laboratoires à ces problématiques, et en déterminant la solution de transport la plus adaptée dans le respect des différentes réglementations. C’est au titre de cette mission de maîtrise des risques que l’unité est rattachée à la Direction de la Sûreté.

En savoir plus : intranet DirSu
En savoir plus : le directeur de la sûreté et fonctionnaire de sécurité défense

 

Pour la petite histoire…

Le point de départ : le laboratoire d’Annecy de physique des particules.
Tout débute par des échanges franco-suisses… Lire la suite